The board of management is responsible for day-to-day proceedings. Its members are:

  • Ansgar Wimmer (chair of the board)
  • Andreas Holz

The supervisory board is responsible for the Foundation’s strategic policies. The current members are:

  • Professor Dr Christoph Stölzl, Weimar (chair)
  • Marlehn Thieme, Bad Soden (deputy chair)
  • Professor Dr Aleida Assmann, Konstanz
  • Claus-Matthias Böge, Hamburg
  • Rolf Kirchfeld, Hamburg
  • Professor Dr Lisa Kosok, Hamburg
  • PD Dr Georg Toepfer, Berlin 
  • Dr. Lea T. Tezcan-Götz, Hamburg (advisor)
  • Professor Dr Hubert Wiggering, Müncheberg (advisor)

In some areas of its work, the Foundation is supported by independent selection committees, for example in awarding prizes, funding, and teaching positions. The make-up of the various committees is detailed on the relevant web pages.